Washington 3-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate
The information on the page is based on the laws of the state of Washington. Landlord-tenant law is very different in different jurisdictions. Even in Washington the information on this website is not a substitute for advice about your circumstances.
3-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate
Seattle 3-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Vacate
To evict a tenant for failure to pay rent the landlord must then successfully prosecute an unlawful detainer action. A prerequisite to bringing the unlawful detainer action is serving a 3-day notice pay rent or vacate. If the tenant fails to cure the notice the landlord may proceed to the next step in the eviction process.
Some pointers on a 3-day notice to pay rent or vacate:
Check your lease. If the lease grants more time or additional means to serve the notice the additional terms must be complied with.
The time and manner of service is strictly construed against the landlord. Our forms include instructions on how to serve the pay or vacate notice.
Do not include non-rent items.
Do not include older rent if you have accepted rent in the interim. Better still is to refuse rent payments unless applied to the oldest rent first.